Going through MI… again!

This is the 3rd time that I’m going through Maison Ikkoku, as well as the 4th time. My first time was when I was in uni, the second about a month back and I’ve started on the 3rd time with Sunshine. Today I bought the manga to start on the 4th round. Obsession? Sure looks like it.

During my 2nd round, I would stay up late at night watching the anime on my PDA, never mind that I had to work the next day. I would take the bus to work so that I had time to catch an extra episode. Some time during the 96 episodes I realised from reviews by other fans that certain scenes from the manga had been left out of the anime, which led me to uncover the online manga scans so I could see for myself. Other fans who were more obsessed (and more importantly, more talented) reviewed their favourite episodes and compiled their own performance of the various theme songs from the anime. I’m glad to know I’m not the only person who thinks this is one of the best romance stories ever.

Looking back at how I started on the first round, it was when Kyoko started playing tennis and Godai’s rival appeared to spice things up. That was when Godai started fighting back and started growing up and became more likeable. If I had started watching while he was a total loser in episode one, I doubt I would have continued watching this spineless, unmotivated and lecherous young man going crazy over a woman much better than he is. The proverbal toad lusting after swan flesh, and with no better chance of success. But he grows up with each challenge that he had to face, and I found myself wishing him success. And along the way, Kyoko’s attitude towards him changed from being merely courteous and cordial to being genuinely enjoying his company.

Sunshine is a fan of Hong Kong drama, and certain Korean dramas capture her attention quite well too. She had never been an anime fan, but this is one of the few anime that she enjoys watching. We have reached episode 40 now. If she can last this long, it must be pretty good.

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

