Some updates on Fathers’ Day

I realise I haven’t been blogging much for quite some time. I blame this primarily on my 5 month old son, who invokes in me a desire to do my fatherly duties, such as carry him around the house so he doesn’t scream his throat off from boredom and a need for attention. To this end, I have started chronicling his life, but it was abysmally incomplete. I think I will write that page about my dream for a gadget that will make all these a breeze, so I can obsessively, compulsively, blog all that happens to him. So that he will know what his early years are like.

Mum finished her knee replacement op this week. The op was on Monday and she was discharged on Saturday. She was happy to finally replace that failing joint with something, but we are not quite sure what it is. She did not ask the doc and I was too, er busy, to go google what people normally do in such ops. Do they saw the bone off or something? Maybe later.

We had our Fathers’ Day lunch at Man Fu Yuan at Hotel Incontinental, Bugis Junction. Sunshine’s 2nd sis was given 2 tables by her supplier. All of us were quite surprised by this of course, but the food was fantastic. Especially the soup with duck, pork, fish, prawn, which TJ and I finished 3 bowls each.

I got a nice towel during the 10AM service. Nice change from the usual book. I hoot a 19 inch Samsung LCD monitor (finally!) which was a little small, but better than the 7 inch screen that came on my EEE PC. During the ‘market survey’ which my colleagues and I did on Friday lunch time at Funan, we found that 22 inch monitors are of a suitable size that we can watch comfortably on the desk or if wall-mounted, from the bed a couple of metres apart. But I did not want it mounted on the wall and real estate on the desk is scarce at my parents’ place… so 19 inch was much safer. Oh well, I still dream of the day when I can have a nice personal study room with a big desk and shelves of books.

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

