ennui

I learnt a new word today that describes my current condition. Ennui is

Listlessness and dissatisfaction resulting from lack of interest; boredom

Credit must be given to Ondine. Good GP teachers are able to teach cheem and interesting words.

It’s been a month since I last updated my blog, and another 3 weeks since the post before that. Sheer lethargy. Some quick updates:

The disaster was finally brought under control and relief efforts passed back to the team that is responsible for it in the first place. I’m relieved from the relief work so that I can fix my own problems before they also swell out of control. As the wise old manager says, we are pressed from 4 sides: from customers who change requirements, from management who insist that we stick to schedule and budget, from infra who are uncooperative and keep throwing obstacles at us, and from our vendors whose deliverables are lacking in quality. Dogs have a better life than us.

Sunshine and me went to Hong Kong for a 4D3N trip. It was a crash course on HK for me, and perhaps a dream came true for her to finally see the places she has seen only in drama series. I took more than 500MB of photos and had wanted to post some of them and write about our trip. But you know, ennui. Sigh. I hope I do get around to do something before the memories fade.

Accidentally dropped the wordpress database that I run in the office for my project blogs. Arrgh! The last backup was in April… fortunately, the disaster kept me from posting much to the blog, and I lost only 2 or 3 meeting minutes, I think. I was able to recover the rest of the content from a rss reader that I ran before the disaster. There’s a cron job that do the daily backing up now.

My resume is still only half-done, and therefore not suitable for use yet. I keep thinking that a change of job will remove this lethargy. I hope it does. I will die if I’m so nua in a new job.

Some exercises are in order to shrug this ennui off. Started swimming last weekend. Hope I start writing and thinking again. Start reading again. Start doing some small projects that I feel for. Not the kind of system I do at work, but for personal interest. Anything to get my life started again. Tonight. Now back to work…

Leave a comment

Filed under blog

Leave a Reply

